(Founded by Bharat Ratna Sir M. Visvesvaraya in 1941)

Prosperity Through Industry



AIMO was founded by Bharat Ratna Sir. M. Visvesvaraya over 75 years ago. The Organisation has established itself as a body committed to Industrial progress with the motto “Prosperity through Industry ” and over the past few decades it has been consistently supportive of several initiatives of the Government of India and Government of Tamil Nadu aimed at accelerating Industrial Growth and Quality Education for all Engineering Colleges aspiring to improve the Quality and Brand Name in the State. It has been recognized by Government as an apex Organisation of industry and given representation on most of the policy making bodies of the Central and State Governments. The Headquarters of AIMO is based at Mumbai. We represent Tamil Nadu State.

It is significant to mention that the India's first ever World Trade Centre, Mumbai which is named after Dr. M. Visvesvaraya as “M. Visvesvaraya Industrial Research & Development Centre (MVIRDC in short) is the outcome of the initiative taken by AIMO.

Every year, we identify an industry registered in Tamilnadu or Pondicherryf based on its excellence in performance and offer "SIR VISVESVARAYA INDUSTRIAL AWARD" to that industry.

Few of the organisations who have received this award are :
  • TVS Group
  • Chemicals & Plastics India Ltd.
  • Ashok Leyland Ltd.
  • MRF Ltd.
  • S I Viscose Ltd
  • Madras Refineries Ltd – Public Sector
  • Sundaram Fasteners Ltd
  • Bharat Heavy Electricals Ltd – Public Sector
  • Lakshmi Machine Works Ltd
  • Neyvelli Lignite Corpn. Ltd – Public Sector
  • Tamil Nadu Petroproducts Ltd.
  • Hindustan Teleprinters Ltd – Public Sector
  • Chemfab Alkalies Ltd
  • Madras Cements Ltd
  • India Pistons Ltd.
  • Orchid Chemicals and Pharmaceuticals Ltd.
  • Shasun Chemicals and Drugs Ltd.
  • MAARS India Ltd.
  • Sri Krishna Sweets Pvt.Ltd.
  • E.I.D. Parry (India) Ltd.
  • Bannari Amman Sugars Ltd
  • Indian Bank
  • M.M. Exports
  • City Union Bank (Banking)
  • Hyundai Motors India Ltd (Automobile)
  • Marg Group (Infrastructure)
  • Grundfos India Ltd (Manufacturing)
  • DP World Chennai
  • LifeCell International Pvt.Ltd.
  • Indian Overseas Bank
This award is given at a function in the presense of renowned personalities. In the past we have had the pleasure of having :

His Excellency Shri P.S. Ramamohan Rao as Governor of Tamil Nadu to deliver this award to Sri Krishna Sweets in 2002.

His Excellency Dr. P.C. Alexander as Governor of Tamil Nadu to deliver this award to MRF Ltd., in 1997.

His Excellency Dr. Bhishma Narain Singh as Governor of Tamil Nadu to deliver this award to Sundaram Fasteners in 1989.

His Excellency Dr. Chenna Reddy as Governor of Tamil Nadu to deliver this award to Tamilnadu Petro Products and Hindustan Teleprinters Ltd. during 1991.

Shri P.A. Sangma, Honourable Minister for Labour, Government of India to deliver this award to Chemplast in 1992.

Shri Kumara Mangalam, Honourable Minister for Power, Government of India to deliver this award to Sashun Chemicals & Pharmaceuticals Ltd.

Shri P. Chidambaram, Honourable Finance Minister, Government of India delivered the award to M/s. E.I.D. Parry (India) Ltd., Bannari Amman Sugars Ltd., M.M. Exports and Indian Bank on 8 th July, 2005 at GRT Grand Hotel, Chennai 17.

His Excellency Shri Surjit Singh Barnala as The Governor of Tamil Nadu delivered the award to M/s. City Union Bank Ltd., Marg Group, Grundfos Pumps India Pvt.Ltd and Hyundai Motors India P Ltd., on 16 th August, 2010 at Raj Bhavan, Chennai.

Honourable Speaker, Tamil Nadu Legislative Assembly Thiru. D. Jayakumar delivered the Sir Visvesvaraya Industreial Awards to M/s. DP World Chennai, Indian Overseas Bank, and LifeCell International Pvt.Ltd., on 6 th August, 2012 at Hotel Savera, Mylapore, Chennai.

Contact Info

All India Manufacturers' Organisation

(Tamil Nadu State Board),

Round Table House, 2nd Floor,

80/69, Nungambakkam High Road,

CHENNAI-600 034.